Reading labels as a coeliac

When I was first diagnosed with coeliac disease, I found reading labels super daunting and I was always worried I would make a mistake. To help me, I made this visual which I kept on my phone and I sent it to family members when they’re buying food for me.

Notes: If as a coeliac you can tolerate oats, they MUST be labelled gluten free. If a product is labelled gluten free but contains barley malt extract, this means it is viewed safe by Coeliac UK as it is under 20 parts per million.

I do not eat may contains, so I also look out for these ingredients on the may contain warning too.

I hope you find this helpful!!

Share:

Leave a Reply